PAU at a Glance

Palo Alto University (PAU) is a private, nonprofit university founded in 1975, with campuses in Palo Alto and Mountain View, California. It teaches psychology, counseling, social work and behavioral science, including the PAU–Stanford PsyD Consortium with Stanford Medicine.

1,169Students Enrolled
8Degree Programs
98%Graduate Students
55%First Generation
32Median Age
34Countries of Citizenship

Accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission continuously since 1986. The doctoral psychology programs are accredited by the American Psychological Association and the master’s counseling programs by CACREP.

See the 1,169

 

Fall 2025 census

Students enrolled on September 17, 2025.
View these figures as tables

Enrollment by program

Students enrolled on September 17, 2025. Program names as the university publishes them.
Program Level Students
Total   1,169

Age

Ages on September 17, 2025. Ages and program counts are drawn from different records, so the totals by level differ by a few students.
Degree level Median Middle half Range
Doctoral 29 27 to 32 23 to 59
Master’s 32 27 to 40 23 to 68
Bachelor’s 38 30 to 50 21 to 65

Gender

Students enrolled on September 17, 2025. One student whose gender was not recorded is counted under “not reported”.
Gender Doctoral Master’s Bachelor’s Total
Women 478 436 14 928
Men 86 123 5 214
Not reported 11 15 1 27
Total 575 574 20 1,169

Race and ethnicity

Where fewer than five students fall into a group, the count is withheld so that no one can be identified. Those students are still counted in the total.
Category Students
Total 1,169

First generation

Students who are the first in their family to attend college.
Status Doctoral Master’s Bachelor’s Total
First generation 251 380 17 648
Not first generation 324 194 3 521

On campus and online

Students enrolled on September 17, 2025.
Delivery Doctoral Master’s Bachelor’s Total
On campus 542 75 0 617
Online 33 499 20 552

These figures describe the students enrolled on September 17, 2025, and are fixed until the next annual count.

Students who have asked that their information not be shared are excluded. Groups of fewer than five students are combined to protect privacy; those students remain in all totals and percentages.

Earlier Students

Everything above describes who is here now. What follows is about earlier entering classes, and what graduates went on to do.

Returning After a Year

Four in five students return for a second year

81%

of those who began in 2024 were still enrolled a year later, down from 88% for the class that entered in 2019.

Share of each entering class still enrolled twelve months later. The scale runs from 76% to 92% rather than from zero. Classes entering from 2025 have not yet completed a full year.
Finishing

Most students complete their degree

Students who move into another PAU program are counted separately rather than as leavers. That happens most often in the MS in psychology, where a sixth of the cohort went on to a doctorate here instead of finishing the master’s.

 
Finished Moved to another program here Still studying Left
Entering classes of 2014 to 2022, assessed once enough time had elapsed for completion. Counselor education admitted its first students in 2024 and social work in 2025, so neither can be reported yet.
The Clinics

Four teaching clinics, open to the public

4

clinics operate under PAU, offering low-cost mental health care to people in the surrounding area. The clinics are also where PAU graduate students do supervised clinical work, so the training and the service are the same activity.

The Clinics @ PAU

Community Clinic
Sexual & Gender Identities Clinic
Clínica Latina
eClinic
Psychology Internship

Doctoral training ends with an accredited internship

93%

of PhD students who applied were placed at an APA-accredited internship site over the last ten years, and 98% of those in the PsyD consortium. The internship year is the last requirement before the doctorate, it is awarded through a national match, and places are not guaranteed.

Share of PhD students who applied for internship and were placed at an APA or CPA accredited site, by the year they applied. The scale runs from 80% to 100% rather than from zero. Ten-year totals across the same period: 702 of 754 for the PhD, and 309 of 314 for the PsyD consortium.
Licensure

Most doctoral graduates go on to license

85%

of PhD graduates have licensed as psychologists, and 96% of the consortium’s, counting those whose doctorate was conferred between two and ten years ago. The PhD takes a median of 5.9 years to finish and the consortium 4.9. Of PAU candidates who sat the national licensing examination in California during 2025, 85% passed, and 92% passed the state law and ethics examination.

 
Licensed Not licensed

Licensure counts 294 of 344 for the PhD and 240 of 251 for the consortium. It takes supervised postdoctoral hours and a national examination, so recent graduates are excluded by design.

Examination results are published by the California Board of Psychology and count California candidates only: 46 of 54 on the national examination and 54 of 59 on the state law and ethics examination during 2025. They are not reported by program.
After Graduating

A third of graduates enter the nonprofit sector

4,244

people have graduated since 2000, roughly 280 a year recently. Among 2022 to 2024 graduates who reported a destination, nonprofits were the most common destination, ahead of private companies and hospitals.

 
Graduates of 2022 to 2024 who reported a destination, 508 in total. Response was voluntary, so this describes respondents rather than every graduate. Groups of fewer than five are combined.
Continuing Education

Continuing education reaches a far wider audience

47,371

enrollments on webinars and on-demand courses taken by clinicians already in practice. These carry continuing education credit toward licensure rather than academic credit. The enrollments span 847 courses and account for about 327,000 hours of CE credit, two-thirds of them in forensic psychology. Figures count enrollments rather than individuals.

 
 
Enrollments by subject over the life of the program. Courses run with the American Academy of Forensic Psychology are counted under forensic psychology. CE hours are the credit value of the courses enrolled in, not hours completed.
Partners

Much of it is taught with someone else

11

organizations co-deliver courses, most of them certifying boards and professional academies. All of them are named here.

 

Faculty and Staff

Who teaches, and what they publish

Faculty teach across the eight degree programs alongside additional adjunct instructors, who take individual courses while keeping their own clinical practice. 20 faculty hold an h-index of 20 or above, and the doctoral programs are built around supervised research with them.

65+Faculty, plus additional adjunct instructors
4,426Published papers
142,811Citations of that work
2,484Doctoral dissertation committees served on

Publication and citation figures cover the 79 faculty with a matched public research profile rather than every appointment, and dissertation committee service is counted across the full history of the programs.

Length of Service

More than 250 people work here

Two-thirds joined within the last five years. PAU has opened two new programs since 2024. More than 40 staff have been at PAU a decade or longer, and the longest-serving staff member joined 38 years ago. Median service is a little over three years.

 
 
Years of continuous service among the 253 people employed here, counted from each person’s most recent start date, as of August 2026.
The Expert Pool

A curated pool of practitioners

250+

practitioners have taught in the program. PAU recruits and vets the pool, then engages presenters one course at a time, drawing from clinical practice, the courts and the certifying boards.

214Hold a doctorate
74Board-certified in professional psychology